Song Defeats Hodgkinson in Playoff for Title at 70th Oregon Men's Stroke Play Championship

Taehoon Song (65-69-67) defeated Collin Hodgkinson (72-64-65) in a playoff on Sunday to secure the Open Division title at the 70th Oregon Men’s Stroke Play Championship held Aug. 5-7 at OGA Golf Course in Woodburn.


Taehoon Song, Eric Fiskum and Bob Harrington
Taehoon Song, Eric Fiskum and Bob Harrington

The two competitors pulled away from the rest of the field to finish the 54-hole tournament tied at 15-under par. Song, a rising junior on the University of Washington men’s golf team, birdied the first hole of the playoff for the victory.

Song (65-69-67) jumped out to the early lead and never trailed during the competition. He was near flawless posting just four bogeys over the three day event. Meanwhile, he poured in 17 birdies, six of which came on day 1 and another seven birdies he registered in the final round.

Hodgkinson, from Beaverton, shot the low round of the tournament on Saturday with an 8-under 64, a round which featured five birdies and two eagles. His final-round 65 tied with Song for the second-best round of the competition.

Aaron Buck finished a distant third place at 7-under par, while Brandon Mader (68-73-69) and Lucas Hughes (70-69-71) tied for fourth finishing at 6-under. Hughes and Song with the only two golfers to be in red figures for all three rounds.

Eric Fiskum (70-73-72) finished at 1-under par for a win in the Master 40 Division, while Bob Harrington (69-71-69) shot 7-under par for the Senior Division title.

Fiskum held off Noah Yano (67-75-74) who finished even par, and Adam Harrington (71-72-74) who was 1-over. Clare Langford (74-74-71) and Michael Hare (72-75-72) tied for fourth at 3-over.

The Senior Division saw Tom Greller (68-72-70) and Pat O’Donnell (69-69-72) tie for second at 6-under, just one stroke back of division champion Bob Harrington.

The OGA Championships scheduled continues Aug. 16-18 at Emerald Valley GC in Creswell where the 32nd Oregon Women’s Stroke Play Championship and 17th Oregon super Senior Championship will take place.