Match Play Underway at Oregon Amateur, Oregon Senior Women's Amateur

Match play for the men’s and women’s divisions at the 113th Oregon Amateur Championship began Wednesday at Willamette Valley Country Club in Canby. The 39th Oregon Senior Women’s Amateur Championship opened its four-day competition with stroke play qualifying to start the day.


Krissy Carman
Krissy Carman won the 2016 Oregon Am title.

The Oregon Am, a six-day competition, opened on Monday with stroke play qualifying in both the men’s and women’s divisions. The top 64 men’s finishers and top 32 women’s finishers from the two-day, 36-hole qualifier advanced to the match play portion of the competition.

Robbie Ziegler (-6) on the men’s side and Krissy Carman (-2) on the women’s side earned medalist honors in stroke play.

Ziegler, the 2018 Oregon Am Champion, rolled in six birdies in his final qualifying round to move in front defending champion Nate Stember and Landon Banks who tied for second at 4-under.

Top-seeded Ziegler battled to a 1up victory over Harrison Moir in a tough early draw in the men’s match play. No. 2 seed Stember, who won this crown a year ago, made quick work in his opening match with a 3&2 win over Eric Hastings.

There were few upsets in the opening matches, but one of note was No. 49 Jason Wood who toppled No. 16 Mason Bonn in 19 holes.

Men’s match play continues Thursday with a double-header playing both the Rounds of 32 and 16.

Carman, who won this event in 2016, opened qualifying with a 76 on Monday but followed that up with a 6-under par 66 on Tuesday. She posted a blemish-free second round featuring four birdies and an eagle on No. 14.

Carman continued her excellence into Wednesday’s opening round of match play where she cruised to a 6&4 win over Bayler Brundange. Kyra Ly, who led after the first day of women’s stroke play qualifying, entered match play as the No. 2 seed and registered a 4&3 win over McKenna Maser.

Amanda Jacobs, the 2020 champion, entered match play as the three-seed and promptly defeated Rachel Shaw 5&4 in her opening match.

The women’s match play continues Thursday with the Round of 16.

Senior Women's Championship Opens With Stroke Play Qualifying

Additionally, the 39th Oregon Senior Women’s Amateur Championship began Wednesday with an 18-hole stroke play qualifying. Two-time champion Leilani Norman, who won the event in 2013 and 2015, earned medalist honors after posting a 5-over par 77.


Leilani Norman
Leilani Norman earned medalist honors.

The top 16 senior women’s players from stroke play qualifying advanced to match play which opens Thursday morning. Tennant, the defending champion, once again bypassed stroke play qualifying and accepted the No. 2 seed for match play.

Tennant has won a record five consecutive senior women’s titles (2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021). She ranks behind Joan Edwards-Powell who won six (1997, 1998, 1999, 2006, 2008, 2009).

The 2016 champion, Anita Rosemeyer, finished second in qualifying but will take the No. 3 seed into match play.

NOTE: The Oregon Senior Men's Amateur will be played Sept. 6-9 at Aspen Lakes Golf Course in Sisters.


Bandon Dunes Golf Resort is offering OGA Members a special golf-only rate of $160 per member (per round) the dates of July 22-30.

All the key information – special booking phone number, pricing, payment requirements, promotional dates and available golf courses – can be accessed through the link below.

Bandon Dunes

Drawing June 30, Winner Announced July 1


adidas Employee Store Invite

June 1-30  |  50% Off


Columbia Employee Store Invite

June 10-July 4  |  50% Off