54th Hogan Cup Set for Aug. 13-14 at Portland's Riverside G&CC

Forty-eight of the most talented junior golfers from the Western United States and Canada are gathering for the 54th playing of the Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches, taking place August 13-14 at Riverside Golf & Country Club in Portland, Ore.


Hogan Cup

The Hogan Cup 36-hole team matches – held annually at Riverside G&CC – feature four-person teams of junior golfers from eight states and British Columbia, with a total of 12 teams competing. In the team format, the three lowest scores each day determine the team total. Medals will be awarded to the top three teams and individuals.

In the competition’s history, teams from Northern and Southern California have been dominant. They have won 30 Hogan Cup titles between the two, with Southern California winning in 2021. The last time Northern California won was in 2014.

As the host association, Oregon annually has two teams participate in the Hogan Cup. The 2022 Oregon teams are:


  • Dane Huddleston (Woodland, Wash.)
  • Jake Rodgers (Mulino)
  • Cole Rueck (Corvallis)
  • Eli Huntington (Camas, Wash.)


  • Andy Yang (Portland)
  • Drew Woolworth (Lake Oswego)
  • Ka’ena Kaulia (Forest Grove)
  • Owen Davis-Piger (Eugene)

The event began in 1969 in commemoration of the vast achievements and contributions to the sport by Eddie Hogan, Riverside's long-time head golf professional who served the club from 1939 until his tragic drowning death in 1968. Hogan, an Oregon Amateur champion and PNGA Amateur champion, transformed the role of the golf professional, developing what is now considered the standard for the green grass pro shop. Hogan was dedicated in helping the Oregon Golf Association develop its widely-recognized junior golf program.

Hogan Cup alumni include tour players such as Tiger Woods, Rickie Fowler, Fred Couples, Bryson DeChambeau, Casey Martin, Peter Jacobsen, Beau Hossler, Jeff Quinney, Patrick Cantlay, Bobby Clampett, Lennie Clements, Scott Simpson, Robert Gamez, Bill Sanders, Kirk Triplett, John Fought and Jason Gore.