Lexi Thompson Given Four-Stroke Penalty After Viewer Notifies LPGA of Rules Violation

Another professional golf major and another rules controversy. And for this one, LPGA star Lexi Thompson has taken center stage. Thompson led the tour’s first major of the season, the ANA Inspiration, by two strokes after 54 holes, but a ruling on Sunday cost her four strokes.

As Thompson was putting on the 12th hole during the final round, the telecast started to talk about a rules infraction that was recently brought to their attention — and it happened on Saturday On the 17th hole on Saturday, video shows Thompson marking her ball before attempting a short putt. In the video, Thompson’s coin was not visible when she marked her ball, but it was afterward when she placed the ball back on the green — meaning she placed the ball in the wrong place.

It was a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, but an additional two strokes were assessed because she signed an incorrect scorecard after that round. Click for full story

 

Oregon Chapter PGA
Oregon Golf Course Superintendent's Association
PNGA
Oregon Golf Course Owners
USGA Logo
First Tee of Greater Portland