29th Oregon Mid-Amateur Begins Saturday at Arrowhead GC | Oregon Golf Association

29th Oregon Mid-Amateur Begins Saturday at Arrowhead GC

MOLALLA, ORE. ­­– The 29th Oregon Mid-Amateur Championship kicks off this weekend, July 15-16 at Arrowhead Golf Club in Molalla, Ore.

The Oregon Mid-Am is eligible to OGA members who are at least 25 years of age by the date of the tournament. A total of 72 men and 12 women will compete in this year’s event. Two qualifiers took place in June to narrow the men’s field.

Players will play 18-holes on Saturday and 18-holes on Sunday, with tee times beginning at 7:30 AM and concluding at 9:40 AM both days.

Impressive fields for both the men and women will be featured this weekend. Defending men’s champion Philip Bagdade (Portland, Ore.) and defending women’s champion Brie Stone (Veneta, Ore.) are both back as they attempt to win back-to-back titles.

The men’s field features six former Oregon Mid-Amateur champions. Along with Bagdade, last year’s winner, former champions include Justin Kadin (Corvallis, Ore. – 2015); David Jacobsen (Portland, Ore. – 2012); Denny Taylor (Gladstone, Ore. – 2006); Jay Poletiek (Portland, Ore. – 2005), and Cameron Azari (Lake Oswego, Ore. – 1995).

Also in the field is Jack Dukeminier (Beaverton, Ore.), winner of the 2011 Oregon Amateur Championship and 2016 OGA Tournament of Champions; Pat O’Donnell (Happy Valley, Ore.), five-time winner of the Oregon Senior Amateur Championship and seven-time champion of the Oregon Senior Men’s Stroke Play, and Daniel Cheremnov (Hubbard, Ore.), recent quarterfinalist at this year’s Oregon Amateur. Taylor, O’Donnell and Cheremnov all call Arrowhead GC home.

In the women’s field, Stone will be attempting to win her record seventh Oregon Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship. She’s won six of the past seven years, with 2015 the only year since 2010 where she hasn’t won the title. Former champions Lara Tennant (Portland, Ore. – 2003, 2008), Marcia Fisher (Molalla, Ore. – 2000, 2002) and Charisse Spada (Portland, Ore. – 1999) will challenge Stone for this year’s title. Tennant, just last month, won the Oregon Senior Women’s Amateur title.

Fisher, a seven-time Oregon Women’s Amateur champion, owns Arrowhead Golf Club, along with her family.

Also in this year’s women’s field is Amanda Jacobs (Portland, Ore.), runner-up in last month’s Oregon Women’s Amateur and the 2016 Pacific Northwest Women’s Mid-Amateur champion; Gretchen Johnson (Portland, Ore.), winner of this year’s OGA Tournament of Champions, and Leilani Norman (Eugene, Ore.), two-time Oregon Senior Women’s Amateur champion and winner of last year’s Oregon Senior Women’s Stroke Play Championship.

Arrowhead Golf Club, the host site of the 29th Oregon Mid-Amateur Championship, most recently held this year’s OGA Tournament of Champions back in April.

Oregon Golf Course Superintendent's Association
First Tee of Greater Portland
Oregon Chapter PGA