108th Oregon Amateur Championship Begins Tuesday, June 20 at The Oregon Golf Club | Oregon Golf Association

108th Oregon Amateur Championship Begins Tuesday, June 20 at The Oregon Golf Club

WEST LINN, ORE. – The 108th edition of the Oregon Amateur Championship is slated to take place Tuesday, June 20th through Sunday, June 25th at The Oregon Golf Club in West Linn, Ore.

The state’s premier amateur golf championship, the 2017 Oregon Amateur will feature 120 men and 34 women players. After 36 holes of stroke play qualifying on Tuesday and Wednesday, match play will begin with the top 64 men and top 32 women from stroke play competing. Round one matches will commence on Thursday, June 22, with the men playing two matches on Friday. Quarterfinal and semifinal matches will take place on Saturday, June 24, with the 36-hole final match for men and women occurring on Sunday, June 25.

“The Oregon Amateur Championship has a storied history and we are looking forward to this year’s event taking place at The Oregon Golf Club,” said Brent Whittaker, OGA Director of Tournament Operations. “The course will present a great challenge to some of the best amateur golfers in the Pacific Northwest.”

This year’s field is filled with college players, established OGA competitors and relative newcomers to the tournament stage. Defending Women’s Amateur champion Krissy Peterson (Canby, Ore.) will be searching for a second-consecutive title. However, on the men’s side, last year’s winner Conner Barr (Beaverton, Ore.) has since turned professional – meaning a new champion will be crowned.

Former Oregon Amateur champions Jack Dukeminier (Beaverton, Ore. – 2011), Blake Seabaugh (Tigard, Ore. – 2008), and Scott Hval (Portland, Ore. – 1997) will be searching for their second state title. Along with Peterson, Gigi Stoll (Tigard, Ore. – 2014, 2015) and Kailin Downs (Oregon City, Ore. – 2002) will be looking to win another Oregon Women’s Amateur title.

The men’s field, which was narrowed after three qualifiers, is as competitive this year as it has been in recent memory. While Barr is now a professional, 2016’s runner-up, Brian Humphreys (Washougal, Wash.) will attempt to take it one-step farther in 2017. Humphreys had a stellar freshman year at Boise State University, becoming the first freshman to ever win the individual title at the Mountain West Conference Tournament.

Numerous recent OGA Championships winners will also be looking for their first Oregon Amateur title, including: Riley Elmes (West Linn, Ore.), winner of the 2016 OGA Tournament of Champions and 2014 Oregon Junior Amateur and Oregon Junior Stroke Play; Kevin Geniza (Corvallis, Ore.), a member of the University of Oregon golf program and champion of last year’s Oregon Men’s Stroke Play; Calvin Green (Springfield, Ore.), the winner of the 2016 Oregon Public Links Championship; Arthur Kim (Tigard, Ore.), who won this year’s OGA Tournament of Champions, and Hogan Arey (Corvallis, Ore.), winner of the 2014 and 2015 Oregon Public Links Championships.

For Elmes, a collegiate golfer at Loyola Marymount University, he’ll be playing on home turf – The Oregon Golf Club is his home course. Other notable names with home-field advantage include the Madey family – brother’s Clayton and Cole, and father Steven. Clayton plays golf at California, Berkeley, while Cole is at UCLA.

Not all of the notable names playing in this year’s championship are college players. Pat O’Donnell (Happy Valley, Ore.) is looking to win his first Oregon Amateur Championship after continuing his career as a dominant senior amateur player around Oregon and the Northwest. O’Donnell, last year’s OGA Golfer of the Year, is joined by fellow successful senior and mid-am players Jim Dunlap (Tigard, Ore.), Bob Harrington (Portland, Ore.), Mike Kloenne (West Linn, Ore.), Jeff Ward (Bend, Ore.) and Tom Zupan (Portland, Ore.) in this year’s event, just to name a few.

More notable players looking to make their mark include Trevor Harding (Portland, Ore.), who won last year’s Inaugural Oregon Amateur Four-Ball Championship with his playing partner Brent McKee; Bryce Wortman (Klamath Falls, Ore.), 2015 Oregon Junior Amateur champion and golfer at San Jose State; and returning semifinalists Montana Frame (Reedsport, Ore.) and Alex Wrenn (Lake Oswego, Ore.). Frame was recently named a NAIA Second Team All-American out of the Oregon Institute of Technology (OIT), while Wrenn attends and plays golf at Claremont McKenna College.

The Women’s Amateur field is stacked with past champions, current college players and accomplished mid-amateurs. Leading the way is Krissy Peterson, who won last year’s championship at Black Butte Ranch – Glaze Meadow. She defeated Gigi Stoll, the 2014 and 2015 champion, on the 36th hole. Peterson recently completed her college career at Portland State University, while Stoll will be entering her junior season at the University of Arizona in the fall. Both players will be looking to repeat their past successes in 2017.

Kailin Downs, the 2002 Oregon Women’s Amateur champion, will be competing in this year’s event. Downs is the women’s golf coach at Portland State University. Along with Peterson and Downs, Tara Finigan (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.) will be representing the Vikings at this year’s championship.

Plenty of colleges around the region and country will be hailing representatives next week. Daniele Giles (Talent, Ore.) recently finished her freshman year at the University of Oregon, while George Fox boasts five current players that will be participating: Tianna Brown (Redmond, Ore.), Janelle Decker (Tualatin, Ore.), Rachel Drgastin (Bend, Ore.), Kristin Elich (Camas, Wash.) and Madison Perry (Portland, Ore.).

Two pairs of sisters are in next week’s field – Amanda and Kristin Elich (Camas, Wash.) and Haleigh and Jenny Krause (Eugene, Ore.). Amanda Elich plays golf collegiately at the University of Houston, with sister Kristin at George Fox. The Krause sisters represent San Diego State (Haleigh) and the University of Nevada – Reno (Jenny), respectively. Fellow Wolfpack golfer Kaitlin Collom (Klamath Falls, Ore.) is also competing in this year’s championship.

Away from the college crowd, Rosie Cook (Bend, Ore.), Amanda Jacobs (Portland, Ore.), and Gretchen Johnson (Portland, Ore.) are three mid-amateur players that will be looking to make noise. Johnson recently won this year’s OGA Tournament of Champions, while she and Jacobs together won the Inaugural Oregon Women’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship in 2016. Jacobs also won the 2016 PNGA Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship and advanced to the quarterfinals of last year’s U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship. Cook finished runner-up in the 2016 Oregon Women’s Mid-Am Championship.

The Oregon Golf Club, located just outside Portland in nearby West Linn, is hosting its second Oregon Amateur Championship, hosting the event back in 2004. The Peter Jacobsen-designed course winds up-and-down through elevation changes, while emulating scenes found at historic courses in Scotland. With views of Mt. Hood and the Cascade Mountain Range found throughout the 18-holes, The Oregon Golf Club is a picturesque yet challenging venue for this year’s Oregon Amateur Championship.

* Spectators are welcome to come and watch all the action at this year's Oregon Amateur! While watching some of the best amateur golfers from the area, there will also be an adidas/TaylorMade Concept Shop available for the general public at The Oregon Golf Club, Tuesday-Thursday from 9 AM-5 PM. Discounted merchandise, apparel, and equipment will be available for purchase.

Oregon Chapter PGA
Oregon Golf Course Superintendent's Association
First Tee of Greater Portland
Oregon Golf Course Owners